Learning to code at 46.

·

2 min read

Where to start? Picture me playing a tetris, paperboy, snake in 1989 on a monocrhome green screen. Forget about how much ram or disk space was on the CPU. Its amazing how technology has moved since 1989 when i was just 14 years old. My fascination with computers started then and today i am 46 years and still trying to code.

Well if I say i am trying to learn i would be lying. I have managed to develop put 2 apps on google playstore and have customised a dozen websites that are running now including my own startup Solarpro Zimbabwe. In 2015 when i started Solarpro i had I already gathered the courage to do some basic html and CSS. I soon discovered that there was no need to reinvent the wheel. Thanks to many frameworks designed to simplify the process of launching a website or an app.

As time went by, I also discovered that you could launch a fully fledged mobile app by using low code frameworks. Today I am trying my hand at improving my apps thanks to new frameworks like Flutter, Appsmith backend services like Appwrite and Supabase

What do you notice about the tools i am using. They are opensource tools!. This is not a coincidence. Since 2006 when i first lay my hands on an Ubuntu 5 CD, i have been using opensource tools and sharing them with with friends and anyone who cares about software freedom through this page

My son who is 13 said Dad do you know what NFTs are? I said yeah i have read about them. And he referred me to the Largest NFT market place which is restricted in Zimbabwe. This makes me really sad. Its not the only site thats restricted. What makes it even more worrying for me is how my 13 year old son is being robbed of the opportunity to experience the latest tech that others elsewhere in his age group enjoy. I just hope that one day this will change and i hope it wont be too late.